I posted this pic over on my “Measurements” page but wanted to talk a little about it here. Last year I had to get a picture for my NBI clearance, as part of my provisional immigration visa in the Philippines (National Bureau of Investigation).  I am filing for permanent status now and had to get another NBI clearance. So, these pics are basically one year apart.

I have been feeling like I have plateaued because the weight loss has slowed down so much.  I am glad I am taking monthly measurements and pics every 2 months. The comparison shows me visible evidence of the progress I am making.  I am certainly not finished, but making good progress. I know I am wearing clothes now that have not fit me in many years, but when I look in the mirror all I see is fat Tim.  These pictures help me see the difference.

The last 2 and half months the weight loss has really slowed down.  I was losing 1 kilo a week – and knew it would not last. Well, it did not last ha ha.  Since January I have  only lost 2 kilos (about 5 Lbs). As I said I was losing 1 kilo a week (2.2 Lbs).  So, I have been getting frustrated. Knowing that the weight loss will slow down does not mean I have to be happy about it.   But during the same 2 and half months, I still lost an inch off my waist and 2 inches off my hips. Plus I put on 1 inch on my upper arms and the composition of my thighs is changing. My thighs are still the same size but firmer. I have been losing fat and gaining muscle (thanks to the kettlebell).  Muscle is more dense than fat, so I actually put on some wight, then started losing again. Building muscle can do that. Sometimes you have to ignore the scale and look at the pictures.

I still had a copy of the older picture in my passport wallet. So when I got the new picture I looked at them side by side. When I look in the mirror I still see fat Tim. I concentrate on the fat still on my neck, not how much fat is gone. These pics side by side make even me see the improvement. So far one of the hardest parts of all this is allowing myself to see the improvement – I easily still see how far I have left to go.  Seeing the improvement is hard for me. Especially with the weight loss slowing down; it makes the day to day changes very slight.

Seeing these pics side by side has really boosted my morale. At a time I really needed a boost.

