17NOV2016

I took a quiz on SparkPeople and was not really surprised by the results:

Your Results: You’re a Smart Snacker

Congratulations! Snackers everywhere look up to you in admiration. You know how to listen to your body’s hunger signals and feed it nutritious snacks that you carefully plan and prepare. And you know it is okay to indulge your sweet tooth once in a while without going overboard or beating yourself up. Keep up the good work–you’re doing great!

Take the quiz here: http://www.sparkpeople.com/resource/assessment_questions.asp?quizid=70

I have always been a snacker… ok a grazer. I could graze all day and still eat a huge lunch & dinner.  That is a big reason why I got fat.  When I started actually losing weight I planned my meals.  I get 4 meals a day. Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, and Snack. It is all planned and fits in my calorie goal for the day (1,500-1,800).  The snack ‘meal’ is about the same calories as any other meals, just spread out over the day, as needed. Some days I need more than others. My usual sweet snack is a small apple (55 calories), my salty snack is a 1 oz bag of mixed nuts (150 calories). Usually I get 2 apples a day, and 4 or 5 bags of nuts a week.  If I do not snack I will overeat at meals, or binge. Find what works for you, and you will have better success. The 8 glasses of water help curb hunger as well.

A lot of people like the new 100 calorie snack packs. They are not very common here in the Philippines, and the ones we have are mostly chips and cookies. My snacks are not exactly portion controlled packs – but kind of better. The small apples are p10 (20 cents USD), and 55 calories. My mixed nuts are a 1 oz bag, at p6 (12 cents USD), and 150 calories.  That covers my sweet and salty snack needs.

Apparently I am a ‘smart snacker’. Which is a huge improvement on my old grazing on food all day…   Yes, I eat a small popcorn at the movies, but I seldom go, and it fits in my macros, so no worries. Getting control of my snacking has probably been the #1 thing helping my weight loss!

 

~Edit 27FEB2017~

I have recently added a new snack, my homemade granola bar.  It is 112 calories, 2 gr. fat, 8.9 gr. carbs, and 11.3 gr. protein.

